Optimistic Vegan


Food Revolution
March 31, 2011, 8:21 am
Filed under: Celebrities, Food, Lifestyle, Personal | Tags: , , ,

We are living in an exciting time: we’re living in the middle of the Food Revolution. More and more people are examining their relationship to food and more and more people are finding themselves dissatisfied. Little by little we are changing our messed up food system.

A little while ago I started a Twitter so that I could stay more up to date with news, specifically vegnews. I love it and think it’s a great way to stay connected. I feel more up to date that I’ve ever felt, and I feel a community that I didn’t know existed before.

Just in the past couple of months:

  • Oprah’s show had a vegan special
  • Martha Stewart had a vegan special
  • An article in the Seattle Times about a vegan blogger
  • Seattle Vegfest
  • An article in Time about moral issues surrounding food
  • As well as many people in the spotlight who are becoming food conscious (my favorites: Olivia Wilde, Natalie Portman, Alicia Silverstone, Emily Deschanel, Ellen DeGeneres)’

I don’t know about you guys, but this makes me really hopeful. I don’t think the problem is convincing people to care about the environment, worker and animal rights or the difficulties small farmers face, but letting them know. Recently it’s been talked about in the media and I think this is the first step.

I know I’m excited, and I love that it’s happening now. I believe we can revitalize our food system, we just need to keep up the good work!

Aww!

loving-mother-cow-and-calf1-1024x787


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree. I think veganism is going mainstream, and this could be the beginning of the movement growing… and growing and growing and growing! With some luck. I think it’s largely the result of the environment being on the same side as the animals and sensible, healthy food production methods. Obviously! (:

Comment by RenéeMBM

The fact that veganism is better for the environment is definitely an instrumental factor in gaining more support. I think that the further away we get from our food, the more people want to return to how it used to be and that’s why we have a big “local” push as well.

Comment by krazykaitie




Leave a comment