Optimistic Vegan


Raising Vegan Kids
November 11, 2010, 1:05 pm
Filed under: Lifestyle, Personal | Tags: , , , ,

I’ve occasionally been asked if I would feed my kids a vegan diet, and I believe I would. (If I have kids, but I’ll save that for another time!) The idea is that if I feed my kids a vegan diet that I am imposing my beliefs on them, that they aren’t making the decision themselves so they won’t continue into adulthood, or why I would tell them about terrible things like slaughterhouses. I’d like to address a few of these to clear up some confusion.

First of all, yes, I would be imposing my beliefs on my children. But isn’t that what all parents do? Isn’t that part of raising kids, to teach them to be good people? I believe most kids are taught that hurting others is wrong, isn’t that imposing your beliefs? I think there is definitely a line to be crossed and I would never force my children to follow what I believe in. The way that I became vegetarian and then vegan was by consciously making the decision after presented with the startling information. If I have kids, I would not feed them any animal products and explain why; that beef comes from cows and that it’s wrong to hurt other creatures. However, if they choose to eat meat or dairy outside of my house then that is their choice to make and they won’t be punished for it. Veganism is a way of life and they must choose to follow it if it will ever stay.

This leads me to the next point: that if I make them grow up as vegans then they will see what they are “missing” and become meat-eaters as soon as they’re out of my house. Well if that’s the way it goes, that’s the way it goes, but I would hope that I would have the ability to raise compassionate children that will return to a vegan lifestyle. Again, I would present my choice of living to them and if they choose to follow it when they can make their own choices, then that’s great!

And finally, people often show surprise when I tell them that I would let them have as much information as they want about how animals are treated. Just the fact that people show surprise that I would tell them shows that they think it’s wrong or too horrific for children to know. Why would we want to subject our children to the deaths of animals rather than admit to ourselves that it’s a cruel practice that should be stopped? I believe that ignorance is dangerous and that the only way that change can happen is if people are educated about the horrible practices of factory farming and slaughterhouses, so yes, my children would learn if they want to.

All in all, I think the most important thing to remember is that veganism is a choice that everyone has to make for themselves, and I would give my kids all the resources they would need to come to the conclusion that is best for them.

And this is Penny, my doggie! I didn’t have any other related pictures, so enjoy!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

