Optimistic Vegan


Three Years!
May 12, 2010, 9:55 pm
Filed under: Animal Rights, Food, Lifestyle, Personal | Tags: , , ,

Well today is my three year anniversary of being vegan! Doesn’t seem very long! I can assure you that it is by far the best decision I have ever made.

When people ask me how long I’ve been vegan or vegetarian (almost 5 years now) they’re usually impressed that I’ve been sticking with it for so long. Although on the one hand I’m flattered, I also know that 3 years isn’t a long time. Even though I’m so proud of the decision I made (all by myself!) I could only wish that I had made it sooner.

I blame society. We are kept in the dark about where our meat comes from, and because it’s such a taboo topic, it’s difficult to ask others. (Oh Internet, how much I love you) In 9th grade I did a project about slaughterhouses (freshman project!) that literally changed my life. I don’t remember how I chose it, but once I did, I was addicted to the information I was seeing. I remember watching movies like “Meet Your Meat” over and over, tears streaming down my face. I was shocked and disgusted that I had contributed to something as horrible and bloody as this, and for 13 years of my life! Of course I stumbled upon information about dairy farms and so on and immediately made the switch.

It always shocks me that someone could be vegetarian, or even vegan, for an extended period of time, and then start eating meat again.  When I first became vegan, my choice was very controversial to those around me. I was so overwhelmed with all of the negative attention, and surprisingly, even from my vegetarian friends. Once I had seen those videos, and learned what was REALLY happening, there was no way they would persuade me out of it. After the initial shock wore off, I remember telling them that I would never eat meat again, but one day I might drink milk or eat cheese again, you know if I got pregnant or something. For this I can be ashamed, that I even thought of altering my morals for what society dictates is weird or taboo. Since those first weeks of being vegan, I have never, and could never, consider exploiting animals again.

The reason I continue to abstain from eating or using animal products, is solely for the animals. I watch undercover videos, and learn about the horrific things that happen in slaughterhouses—not to keep myself from slipping, but to remind myself why I’m doing the things I do. However, I also have to surround myself with hope that there is a light at the end, by listening to Colleen’s podcasts, or dreaming of visiting Farm Sanctuary. These past three years have been the best of my (short) life, where I’ve learned about myself, and what truly matters making me only more excited for the next ones to come!

DSCF9152

Sammy and me! When he was  baby! Yes, unrelated to my post, but too cute to not put here.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Vegiversary!

Comment by Susie

I don’t recall not supporting your decision. I am sure I had some concerns, but I have always admired your determination to avoid contributing to the poor treatment of animals. I am proud of you now, and I was proud of you then. But — where will you get your protein? And, don’t young people need the calcium in cow’s milk for strong bones? (just kidding!!!!)

Comment by Shaun

I will always support you and your vegan lifestyle, Kaitie 🙂 I look to your blog for inspiration each and every day, and I admire you for your devotion to the proper treatment of all living things. Thank you!

Comment by Annie

Thank you Annie! It means a lot to me that you read my blog, and keep commenting! I’m so excited that you’re on this veggie adventure too 🙂

Comment by krazykaitie




Leave a Reply

